ICC Finalizes Schedule for Next T20 World Cup

The calendar for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 has been finalized by the International Cricket Council, and 20 nations will compete in the competition under a new format, according to ESPNCricinfo.

Next year, the event is scheduled to run from June 4 to June 30 in the USA and the West Indies. The matches will be placed at 10 different locations, with Florida, Morrisville, Dallas, and New York being considered as potential US locations.

By winning the ongoing East Asia Pacific Qualifier in the Philippines earlier, Papua New Guinea secured a seat in the T20 World Cup. The top two teams in the Europe Region Qualifier, Ireland and Scotland, have also qualified for the main tournament.

Also confirmed in the coming months through regional qualifying events will be one qualifier from the Americas, two from Asia, and one each from Africa.

Participating Teams

After placing in the top eight of the Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka automatically qualified for the competition. The West Indies and the USA will also take part as the event’s hosts. Based on their ICC rankings in the T20Is, Bangladesh and Afghanistan have also qualified directly.

PNG, Scotland, and Ireland will join these 12 teams, and another five teams—as noted above—will round up the roster for the massive event.

2024 T20 World Cup Format

A new format will be used for the 2018 T20 World Cup, with the first round dividing the 20 participating countries into four groups of five. The top two teams from each group—a total of eight teams—will compete in the Super 8s group, where they will be split into two additional groups of four.

The top two teams from each of these two groups will play in the Super 8s semi-finals, which will be followed on June 30 by the grand final.

Leave a Comment